Découvrez les régions

Marches

Description

Entre l’Ombrie et l’Adriatique, au confluent des traditions italiennes du nord et du sud, les Marches restent encore grandement méconnues des touristes.

Région natale de Raphaël, peintre iconique de la Renaissance, les Marches ont depuis toujours été un pôle d’innovation culturelle et la patrie de nombre d’intellectuels italiens. Plus récemment dans le monde du sport, cette région nous a donné des prodiges comme le motocycliste Valentino Rossi et le footballeur Lionel Messi.

Avec une campagne encore sauvage constellée de petites villes médiévales et de vignobles, le centre rural de la région attire les voyageurs à la recherche d’un train de vie plus reposant, loin de la frénésie des grandes villes.

Pour ceux qui désirent un séjour plus animé, le chef-lieu Ancône est l’escale de nombreuses lignes de traversiers de l’Adriatique. Plus petite que les autres capitales, Ancône recèle néanmoins un lot impressionnant de ruines romaines, auxquelles s’ajoutent quelques églises de la Renaissance, pour la forme.

En dehors de sa capitale, les Marches ont de quoi satisfaire autant les amateurs d’art que les mordus de plein air. À la frontière de l’Ombrie, le Parco Nazionale dei Monte Sibillin, l’un des plus grands parcs nationaux de la région, propose plusieurs sentiers pédestres parmi les montagnes avoisinantes. Pour les passionnés de la Renaissance, une excursion à Urbino, la ville natale de Raphaël, s’impose. Accueillant jadis l’élite culturelle marchigiane, le centre historique de la ville compte encore plusieurs anciens Palazzi, ou palais.

Visitez - Le carrefour des vins

Avec son relief accidenté et ses montagnes qui se jettent dans l’Adriatique, les Marches ont le climat idéal pour produire des vins étonnants. Ceux de la zone du Rosso Piceno, au pied des Apennins sont d’ailleurs reconnus pour leur acidité caractéristique.

Goûtez - D’olives et de porc

Avec leurs vastes campagnes, les Marches ne sont jamais à court d’inspiration côté gastronomie. Nichée entre les montagnes et la mer, la région possède une économie rurale dynamique basée sur l’élevage et l’agriculture, similaire à celle des Abruzzes ou du Molise. Un mets typique de ce mode de vie campagnard est le Ciauscolo, une saucisse de porc fumée au fenouil et à l’ail. Souvent utilisée pour agrémenter les ragouts, soupes et autres plats simples, on peut acheter du Ciauscolo dans les norcinerias, magasins spécialisés dans la vente de viande et de produits du porc.

Autre plat typique reflétant le passé agricole de la région, l’Ascolone Olive est un beignet d’olives farcies au fromage et à la viande, servi à l’apéritif ou comme entrée. C’est à la magnifique ville d’Ascoli Piceno que l’on doit cette délicieuse création culinaire.

Vins

Cépages phares

  • Biancame
  • Montepulciano
  • Sangiovese
  • Verdicchio
  • Vernaccia Nera

Appellations phares

  • Bianchello di Metauro DOC
  • Castelli di Jesi Verdicchio Riserva DOCG
  • Conero DOCG
  • Rosso Piceno DOC
  • Terreni di Sanseverino DOC

Activités

Activités vitivinicoles de la région

  • Accords mets et vins
  • Dégustation de vin
  • Balade et découverte

Discover the Regions

Marche

Overview

One of Italy’s lesser known regions, Marche, situated between Umbria and the Adriatic, provides a great mix of Southern and Northern Italian lifestyle.

Discover – Cultural Boundaries

The region is often seen as having contributed extensively to Italian culture and politics throughout history. The birthplace of Renaissance painter Raphael, Marche has been a hotbed for cultural innovation throughout the country’s history, producing many of Italy’s intellectual elite. The region is also no stranger to developing more contemporary talent, with motorcycle phenom Valentino Rossi and even Lionel Messi claiming ancestry from the region.

With a countryside that is still relatively undeveloped, Marche’s strongest attributes lay within its more rural interior. Dotted with medieval towns and vineyards, visiting the region reveals a much quieter pace of life, with many of the hectic habits of everyday life seemingly absent.

Ancona, the region’s capital and one of the largest ferry hubs in the Adriatic, provides a more urban distraction for those visiting the region. While smaller in size, the city provides a plethora of Roman ruins with the occasional Renaissance church thrown in for good measure.

Outside of the capital, Marche provides for both the culturist and nature lover alike. The Parco Nazionale dei Monte Sibillini, situated on the border with Umbria and one of the region’s largest national parks, offers great views of the surrounding mountains and ample walking trails. Urbino, the birthplace of Raphael, acts as a great day trip for those interested in all things Renaissance. Once a de facto hub for Marche’s cultural elite, the town’s historic center showcases many of the periods ornate Palazzi or Palaces.

Visit – Wine Hub

With dramatic elevation changes often leading directly to the Adriatic, Marche’s climate is ideally suited to produce exceptional wine. The region of Rosso Piceno, situated in the foothills of the Apennines, allows for wine production with a much higher acidity than the surrounding area.

Taste – Olive and Bovine

Being enveloped by nature, Marche isn’t short of inspiration for its culinary traditions. Nestled between the mountains and the sea, the region has seen the emergence of a rural economy similar to that of Abruzzo and Molise, with a strong emphasis on herding and agriculture. One such dish to emerge from the area’s rural economic past is the Ciauscolo, a smoky pork sausage that is commonly flavored with fennel and garlic. The sausage is used to enrich otherwise simple dishes such as stews and soups and is sold through Marche’s Norcinerias, stores that specialize in bovine products.

Another dish with strong roots in the regions rural past is the Ascolane Olive. Stuffed with meat and cheese and then deep-fried, the dish is primarily used as a starter or a snack prior to the meal. The Ascolane Olive can trace it roots to the town of Ascoli Piceno, just as renown for its beauty as it is for its delicious culinary creation.

Other food specialties include:

Wines

Flagship wine grapes

  • Biancame
  • Montepulciano
  • Sangiovese
  • Verdicchio
  • Vernaccia Nera

Flagship wine appellations

Activities

Wine-related activities in the region

  • Wine and food pairing
  • Wine Tasting
  • Discovery ride