Quoi de Neuf

La Basilique de Saint-François d’Assise : Un des trésors de l’art religieux italien

Assise, dans la région de l’Ombrie, est un centre spirituel, artistique et touristique, dont l’identité est entremêlée avec la figure de Saint-François.

Assise, la ville de Saint-François

Assise s’érige sur le sommet d’une colline dans la Vallée Ombrienne. Dans cette petite ville, tout ramène à Saint François : c’est ici que la dépouille du saint est enterrée depuis 1230.

Le tissu urbain médiéval est plein de ruelles et de vues panoramiques qui vous laisseront émerveillés et qui s’intègrent parfaitement avec les œuvres d’art religieux de valeur inestimable.

La Basilique de St-François

La basilique de Saint-François est l’attraction principale d’Assise. Un patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 2000, elle a été bâtie pour accueillir les milliers de pèlerins, qui même aujourd’hui se rendent à Assise, poussés par une profonde dévotion.

La basilique est un des édifices de style gothique plus anciens en Italie, et elle est célèbre à travers le monde pour la splendeur de ses œuvres : les fresques de Cimabue, Giotto, Simone Martini et Pietro Lorenzetti.

Faits inusités sur la Basilique

La basilique de Saint-François est située sur une colline, sur un espace en forme irrégulière, recouvert de gazon. Avant la construction, la colline était appelée Colle dell’Inferno, « Colline de l’enfer », parce que c’était le site où on exécutait les sentences de mort. C’est seulement après la construction de la basilique que le nom de la colline a changé en Colle del Paradiso, « Colline du paradis ».

Édifié à partir de 1228, le sanctuaire est constitué de deux basiliques complémentaires, l’une sur l’autre : la basilique supérieure et la basilique inférieure. La première est de style roman lombard, la seconde de style gothique.

• Travel

The Basilica of St-Francis of Assisi: One of the treasures of Italian religious art

Assisi, a city in the Umbria region, is a spiritual, artistic, and touristic center whose identity is intertwined with the figure of St. Francis.

Assisi, the city of St-Francis

Assisi is located on a hilltop in the Umbrian Valley. In this small city, everything goes back to St. Francisthe remains of the Saint have been preserved here since 1230 AD. The medieval urban setting is rich in breathtaking alleys and sights that assimilate perfectly with works of religious art of inestimable value.

The Basilica of St-Francis

The Basilica of St. Francis is the main attraction of Assisi. A UNESCO World Heritage site since 2000, the basilica was built to host the thousands of pilgrims who travel to Assisi every year, led by a profound devotion to the Saint.

The Basilica is one of the oldest pieces of Gothic architecture in Italy, and it is famous all over the world for the majesty of the masterpieces it hosts: the frescos of Cimabue, Giotto, Simone Martini, and Pietro Lorenzetti.

Interesting facts about the Basilica

The Basilica of St. Francis is located on a hill, on a square of irregular shape covered by green grass. Before the construction of the church, the hill was called Colle dell’Inferno, “Hill of Hell,” because it was where death sentences were carried out. Once the church was built, the name of hill changed to Colle del Paradiso, “Hill of Paradise.”

With construction starting in 1228 AD, the basilica is now a complex comprising two complementary churches, one on top of the other: the Upper and Lower Basilicas. The former is built in Lombard Romanic style, while the latter in Gothic style.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Be the first to know about our newest featured wineries, exclusive offers, and discover our featured regions.

© 2021 The Wineandtravelitaly.com Team All rights reserved.