Taste the Wines

Valle D’Aosta DOC

White Grape Variety: Prié blanc
Red Grape Variety: Pinot noir, Gamay, Petit Rouge

Valle d’Aosta DOC is a appellation located within the entire region of Aosta Valley in northwest Italy. The denomination is represented by 7 subdenominations by area and 19 subdenominations by grape variety. There is also a discipline of subdenominations by color (white, red, pink) and by types of vinification (young, raisin, late harvest and spumante).

Surrounded by the Alps, Valle d’Aosta DOC is home to the highest elevated vineyards in all of Europe. Protected on the north from cold currents and on the west from humid Atlantic currents by the Alps, the climate creates the perfect environment for wine cultivation, which has occurred in the area since Roman times.


Val D’Aosta is the best place in Italy to talk about Heroic viticolture. Here the vineyards grow at 1200 mt a.s.l. and gradients of 70-80%. Climate is also an issue for the viticolture of this region. Winters are very long and spring frosts are a threat for the grapes. For this reason indigenous grapes such as Priè blanc or Fumin are suitable for their adaptability to this climate.

One particular feature of this region is a great number of ungrafted vines, because the climate protected the vineyards against phylloxera.


Val D’aosta DOC is an appellation of 90 km long that follows the Dora Rivera. The vineyards lie in the steepy sides of the river, that mitigate the climate and allows viticolture. We can divide the appellation in 3 main regions

  • Valdigne: here we can find the highest vineyards and the main grape is Priè Blanc. This region is very well known for the production of sparkling wines in Subregion Blanc du Morgex et de la Salle. There’s also a small production of Icewine.
  • Central Valley: From the Municipality of Arvier to St. Vincent/Montjovet. The main grape of the area is Petit Rouge
  • Low valley: from Montjovet to Pont St. Martin. Here we have a Piedmont influence and the main grape is Nebbiolo.

There are 7 subregions in the specification

  1. Blanc de Morgex et de La Salle: priè blanc
  2. Chambave: petit rouge, vien de Nus, Fumin, muscat blanc
  3. Nus: petit rouge, vien de Nus, Fumin, muscat blanc
  4. Arnad-Montjovet: nebbiolo here called Picotendro
  5. Torrette: petit rouge, ayolet, cornalin and petite arvine
  6. Donnas: nebbiolo here called Picotendro
  7. Enfer d’Arvier: petit rouge, ayolet, cornalin and petite arvine

The red wines of the region have a strong berry aroma and have a dry, acidic and slightly spicy taste. Valle d’Aosta DOC white wines are light, sweet and aromatic. Overall, the wines pair nicely with soups, Toma and Fontina DOP cheeses, with meat or fish dishes.